Ohio State Thespian Conference Yields Spectacular Results for Westerville Students

Back to School News      Print News Article

The Ohio State Thespian Conference was held March 29-31 at the Akron School for the Arts. Representatives from all three Westerville high schools – Central, North, and South – attended, with wonderful results.

In the Individual Events category, Central student Bella Glaser, North student Zach Ryan, and South students Emma Murphy, Caleb Jingo, Sophia Shai, Georgia Santino and Tori Perdue earned Double Superior ratings.   South pupils Oliver Ruynon, Kandy Boakye, Karina Deere, Emylie Winesette, Josiah Holloway, Kim Welch, and William Serozynski received the Superior/Excellent designation.

All-Ohio Show cast members were Bella Glaser (Central); Emily Stowers (North); and Oliver Runyon, Josiah Holloway, Emma Murphy, Kandy Boayke, Caleb Jingo, Tori Perdue, Ethan Riehle, Lilah Benjamin, Baylee Roberson, and Sophia Shai (South).

Of five State Scholarships given, South students Baylee Roberson, Oliver Runyon and Tori Perdue earned three.

Both Westerville North and Westerville South high schools were selected to perform feature full-length shows during the conference.  Each school enjoyed a sold-out audience for their performances of You’re A Good Man, Charlie Brown (North) and First Date (South).  South was also awarded the Gold Honor Troupe designation for the fifth straight year. 

Teachers and students from all three high schools expressed their appreciation to the Westerville City Schools administration team and Board of Education for their enthusiastic support of the theatre in the district.