Westerville Kiwanis Honors Top Scholars at 57th Academic Varsity Awards Banquet

Back to School News      Print News Article

Keynote Speaker Dr. John L. Comerford, President, Otterbein University, encouraged students to engage in community service and embrace the “buffet of opportunities” that awaits them in college. 




The Kiwanis Club of Westerville has hosted an Academic Varsity Awards Banquet for a remarkable 57 years. 


Westerville Kiwanis


The Westerville Kiwanis Club held its 57th annual Academic Varsity Awards Banquet on Wednesday evening, April 17, when the top 30 senior scholars from Westerville high schools were honored.  The evening included a dinner and special recognition of 10 students from Westerville Central, 10 students from Westerville North, and 10 students from Westerville South High School.  Guest speaker was Dr. John L. Comerford, President, Otterbein University.  He advised the honorees to embrace the “buffet of opportunity” that awaits them in college, and encouraged them to engage in community service from which, he said, they would get much more than they give. 

Each pupil received a copy of Oh The Thinks You Can Think..., from the Superintendent, Treasurer and Westerville City Schools Board of Education. 


Westerville Central High School Honorees

Central Honorees

Left to right:  Westerville Central High School Principal Tom Lanier, Callie Barry, Gianna Brooks, Maxwell James, Olivia Loesch, Briana McNeal, Benjamin Middleton, Jordan Mori, Sarah Wolfe, and Cameron Thraen, Ph.D., President, Kiwanis Club of Westerville.  Not Pictured:  Camron Hubble and Jacob Yaussy.


Westerville North High School Honorees

North Honorees

Westerville North High School Principal Kurt Yancey, Madison Dolnicek, Gavin Cave, Grace Beeba, Mackenzie Lykins, Caden Crist, Daisy Roberts, Emily Stowers, Alexander Vineyard, Megan Zody, Ryan Bentivegna, and Kiwanis President Cameron Thraen, Ph.D.



Westerville South High School Honorees

South Honorees

Westerville South High School Principal Mike Hinze, Megan Banks, Abby Jung, Maria Hays, Delanie Daugherty, Claire Guinan, Christina Himes, Tuyen Quan, Rachel Slaybaugh, Jude Pedrozo, and Kiwanis President Cameron Thraen, Ph.D.  Not pictured:  Jack Lovell.