Westerville Students Excel at 2012 Central Ohio Regional Invention Convention

Back to School News      Print News Article

Student inventors gathered on May 19 at Columbus State Community College for the 17th annual Central Ohio Regional Invention Convention, presented by Time Warner Cable. When the judging was finished, a number of Westerville students – and one teacher – earned honors.

The 2012 Teacher of Excellence Award was given to Chris Henricksen, a fifth grade Science and Social Studies teacher at Mark Twain Elementary School. Henricksen received a $1,500 technology package for his classroom; a Donato’s Pizza party; a COSI field trip; a PT Reptiles “Reptile Education Program” for his class; and student passes from LAzerKraze.

The $500 Bob Bullock “Look at the Donut…not the Hole” Memorial Scholarship was given to Nolan Todys, a fourth grader at Hanby Arts Magnet School, for “Safelink.” Erik Welch, an eighth grade pupil at Genoa Middle School, earned a $1,000 Environmental Ambassadors’ Scholarship for “Recycled Pencils.”

Inventors whose creations rated in the Top Fifty earned $50 savings bonds. Eight were Westerville students.
  • Erik Welch, grade 8, Genoa Middle School, “Recycled Pencils”
  • Coleton Morr, grade 4, Emerson, “Chair Magic”
  • Ema Rennie, grade 4, Hanby, “Maverick Swimming Safety”
  • Jake Llaneza, grade 4, Emerson, “Chair Magic”
  • Jon Feverston, grade 8, Heritage, “The Brass Bag”
  • Grace Ann Neal, grade 4, Central College, “Pick Stop!”
  • Alexander Fletcher, grade 3, McVay, “The Lighted Pet Walker”
  • Molly Foster, grade 8, Walnut Springs, “Runners, Bikers, Walkers”