Book Awards

Book Awards

Do you know what the Caldecott Medal is?  How about the Newbery Medal?  Did you know that here in Ohio we have a Buckeye Book Award?   This page is full of information about books that have won honors. Explore to find some of your favorites, or one that will become your new favorite!

Caldecott Award

The Caldecott Medal is given to the best picture book of the year, but only for the illustrations. There are some great books that have been winners of the Caldecott. It is always announced in January of each year.


 "A Ball for Daisy" by Chris Raschka 

In this book, a dog named Daisy has fun with her ball, and
shows what happens when it is lost.

Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal is given for the best fiction book for young people. This award is also announced in January and everyone always tries to guess what book will win.


 "Dead End In Norvelt" by Jack Gantos.

In the historic town of Norvelt, Pennsylvania, twelve-year-old Jack Gantos spends the summer of 1962 grounded for various offenses until he is assigned to help an elderly neighbor with a most unusual chore involving the newly dead, molten wax, twisted promises, Girl Scout cookies, underage driving, lessons from history, typewriting, and countless bloody noses.

       Buckeye Children's Book Award 

The Buckeye Children's Book Awards are chosen by Ohio students just like you. Students vote for their favorite books in three categories.



 Here's a link to the 2011 winners - enjoy these books!