Community Engagement Business Advisory Committee Members Named

Back to School News      Print News Article

Westerville City School District officials recently announced the names of community members and district employees who will comprise the Board of Education’s new Community Engagement Business Advisory Committee.

Following a thorough screening and interview process of the 35 applicants, members of the Community Engagement Committee (CEC) are: Seth Bumgarner, Vaughn Bell, Susan Burton, Amber Dinopoulos, Ran Flasterstein, Steve Hittle, Rodney Johnson (district staff), Brent Long, Patricia Merryman, Sarah Painter (district staff), Brian Pierson, Robin Pryfogle, Tina Shirey (district staff), Kari Tucker (district staff), Rick Vilardo, Peter Wilms, and Thelma Young. Committee advisors include Superintendent Dr. Dan Good, Special Education Coordinator Suzanne Kile, and Board of Education members Cindy Crowe and Kristi Robbins. The committee will be facilitated by community member Carol Blaine.

“We had a very talented and diverse group of people apply to serve on this committee,” Good said. “I’m extremely pleased about the level of interest generated and that the individuals chosen are willing to commit their time and energy to this initiative.”

Some of the several demographic groups represented on the CEC include the clergy, retirees, full-time parents, full- and part-time employees for both non-profit and for-profit businesses, and the self-employed. The CEC’s primary focus will be to foster connections across the community and build a collaborative culture that supports the district’s efforts to create 21st Century Schools. Committee goals will be achieved through the open and honest exchange of ideas with constituents.

CEC members will serve one initial 12-month term and, as desired by the Board, one-year renewal terms thereafter. The CEC will hold its initial meeting at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 30 in the district’s Early Learning Center.