Westerville Parent Council announces 2020-21 GEM Award recipients

Back to School News      Print News Article

Westerville Parent Council and Roush Honda have announced the recipients of the 2020-21 Great Educator Mentor (GEM) Award, which is presented to individuals who go the extra mile to make a positive impact in the classroom and schools.

In a joint statement, Westerville Parent Council GEM Chairs Liz Washburn and Tracey King said the parent council, with the generous sponsorship from our friends at Roush Honda, has celebrated the contributions of staff, volunteers, and community members at each building and across the school district for 18 years.

“These GEMs spread their light, going above and beyond the call of duty to make a positive impact on our schools, our families, and most importantly, our students,” they said. “This year, it goes without saying that all the recipients and nominees have overcome the many challenges and obstacles that presented themselves during this highly unusual year. They have cared and supported our students with ingenuity, creativity, and grace.”

The 2020-21 GEM Award recipients are:



The Early Learning Center: Jill McKinley 



Alcott: Lisa Winter 

Annehurst: Heather Harris 

Cherrington: Marsha Siefker

Emerson: Shannon Goebeler

Fouse: Stephanie Sahr

Hanby: Megan Anne Hedges

Hawthorne: Jenny Scherer

Huber Ridge: Deb Seckel 

Mark Twain: Kelley Knapp

McVay: Michael McClain

Pointview: Alexander Chapman

Robert Frost: Vicki Fouse

Whittier: Angela Faust

Wilder: Elizabeth Wolfgang 



Blendon: Meg Miller

Genoa: Jamie Yeater 

Heritage: Sarah Kruk 

Walnut Springs: Geneva Tran



Central: Erica Guice 

North: Sara Loney

South: Candice Bartlett 



Amy Anglin, Mary Lou Hittle, Lee Rutherford, Dr. Tonya Salisbury, Michele Janney     



Birdie Books and Café